

Secondary Division Award Ceremony



# **CATEGORY AWARDS**

# Junior Division Category Winners

#### Social & Behavioral Sciences

Third Place: Timothy Holt

Beehive Science & Technology Academy

Second Place: Mary Christensen

APA (Draper 3)

First Place: Jordan Olschewski

**Entheos Academy (Kearns)** 

# Senior Division Category Winners

#### Social & Behavioral Sciences

Second Place: Kayla Fahl

Academy for Math, Engineering & Science (AMES)

First Place:

Leia Dorn

Academy for Math, Engineering & Science (AMES)

# Junior Division Category Winners

#### **Biological Sciences**

Third Place: Azaleth Torres Saldanas

Entheos Academy (Kearns)

Second Place: Daniela Bergantz

Bonneville Academy

First Place: Nickolas Hammond

Entheos Academy (Kearns)

# Senior Division Category Winners

#### **Biological Sciences**

Second Place: Arika Awan, Anastasia Varela, Zaya Harker **Beehive Science & Technology** Academy

**First Place:** 

Aiden Pasinsky Beehive Science & Technology Academy

# Junior Division Category Winners

#### **Engineering & Mathematics**

#### Third Place: Daniel Christenson

American Preparatory Academy (West Valley 2)

Second Place:

# Sophia Ebert, Lily Larson, Haleigh Williams

Channing Hall

First Place:

### Nicholas Jacob

Beehive Science & Technology Academy

# Senior Division Category Winners

#### **Engineering & Mathematics**

Second Place: Rachel Maxfield

American Preparatory Academy (Draper 3)

First Place:

Dua Azhar, Sanjana Kargi

Beehive Science & Technology Academy

# Junior Division Category Winners

#### **Physical Sciences**

Third Place: Karlee Bawden

**Bonneville Academy** 

Second Place: Eric Pesci, Paul Gerritsen, Kareem Rifaat

**Channing Hall** 

First Place: Ailiyana Boren

Entheos Academy (Kearns)



# SPECIAL AWARDS

#### **Special Award**

# Interesting Food Service Subway Gift Card

Density in Muffins

Lyssa Neifer

APA: WV2

#### **Special Award**

# Chief Richard J. Herring Service Award

# **Amputech**

Greyson Astin, Henry Stueber, Nicholas Jansson

**Channing Hall** 

#### **Special Award**

# Chief Richard J. Herring Service Award

Solar Powered Aquaponics

Eliot Copenhafer, Samuel Maitre

Weilenmann



# **OVERALL WINNERS**

#### **Overall Winners**

# **Third Place**

Are Eco-Friendly Dish Detergents Actually Safer for the Environment than Conventional Dish Detergents?

# Julie Ramirez

Entheos Academy (Kearns)

**Overall Winners** 

# Second Place

The Best Way to Purify River Water

# Dylan Bolman

APA (West Valley 2: 3100 S)

**Overall Winners** 

First Place

Solar Powered Aquaponics System

Eliot Copenhafer, Samuel Maitre

Weilenmann School of Discovery

**Overall Winners** 

**Third Place** 

Vibration Analysis in Additive Manufacturing

Zachary Maynard and Nihal Kariparduc

Beehive Science & Technology Academy

#### **Overall Winners**

# Second Place

New Results on the Dynamics of Electrical Activity in the Visual Cortex of Humans - Potential Clues on How Humans Detect Movement

# Huck Jones American Preparatory Academy (Draper 3)

#### **Overall Winners**

# First Place

Evaluating Salt Lake County Watershed: A Six-Month Longitudinal Water Quality Study of the Jordan River Corridor Including Wastewater Discharge Detection using Inexpensive Passive Samplers and a Multi-Point Chemical Assay to Promote Environmental Awareness

# Tara Horscroft

# Entheos Academy (Kearns)



# REGIONAL QUALIFIERS

# UofU Science & Engineering Fair

- USEF is the regional fair for much of Salt Lake,
   Tooele, and Summit Counties
- March 12-14<sup>th</sup>, 2019 (Awards March 15)
- Rice-Eccles Stadium, University of Utah
- Must Register by Feb 18<sup>th</sup>,
  - Early registration Feb 10 (Sunday!)
  - Registration instructions are on certificate
- For more information: usef.utah.edu

#### **USEF Qualifiers**

- Timothy Holt
- Sidor Clare, Kassie Holt
- Calder Nelson
- **Leecey Winters**
- Hefisipa Tauteoli 🗸
- Seth Ivie
- Liva Fonua

- ✓ Eliot Copenhafer,
  - Samuel Maitre
- Dylan Bolman
- Julie Ramirez
  - Ailiyana Boren
    - Mary Christensen
    - Brynn Frohman,
      - Abigail Holland,
      - Whitney Schmitt

- ✓ Eric Pesci, Paul Gerritsen,
  - Kareem Rifaat
- ✓ Daniela Bergantz
- Lilly Hunt
- ✓ Azaleth Torres Saldanas
- Daniel Christenson

#### **USEF Qualifiers**

- ✓ Nicholas Jacob
- ✓ Jordan Olschewski
- ✓ Karlee Bawden
- ✓ Kayden Hicks
- ✓ Paige Nelson
- ✓ Hannah Zoulek
- ✓ Emma Fox
- ✓ Jaida Gray,
  Anabelle
  Woodbury, Phebe
  Balfe

- NickolasHammond
- ✓ Sophia Ebert, Lily Larson
- ✓ Greyson Astin, Henry Stueber, Nicholas Jansson
- ✓ Swayam Sakpal
- ✓ Cameron Ford, Cambelle Ford
- ✓ Rithya Sriram

- ✓ Saskia Willey , Sophie Hoecherl, Georgia Barrett
- Melvin Medina
- Samuel Patterson
- ✓ Derek Lee
- Emily Reinoso
- ✓ Brooklyn Ledesma
- ✓ Jack Billingsley

#### **USEF Qualifiers**

- ✓ Tara Horscroft
- Huck Jones
- ✓ Shilp Shah
- ✓ Emma Sun
- Nihal Kariparduc,Zachary Maynard
- Dua AzharSanjana Kargi
- Donny Doan
- ✓ Aiden Pasinsky
- ✓ Leia Dorn
- Rachel Maxfield

- ✓ Arika AwanAnastasia VarelaZaya Harker
  - Courtney Strydom
  - Kayla Fahl
  - ✓ Bayley Davis
  - Cora LeeCumming
  - Braxton Dake
  - ✓ Dahlia DeNeiro
  - ✓ Aubrie Jensen
  - ✓ Pratibodh Solanki

- Louis Owen
- Nithya LakireddyAbbey Thomas

# Thank You Sponsors and Donors





# Thank you

